Time is right for Samantha’s Blackpool beauty dream


Samantha Wallis could just be the busiest woman in Blackpool.

2601037523

For not only is she a mum of seven, but also Samantha has been working 10-hour days to get her new business up and running, while at the same time starting a university course.

Oh yes, and she has to plan a wedding as she is due to get married next August.

The 36-year-old, from the Stanley Park area of Blackpool, is launching Timeless Nails and Beauty on Church Street this Saturday.

She said it was the next step to achieving her dream of training people in the beauty industry.

She said: “In the past two years I went back to college to update my qualifications.

“I left school with nothing. I pretty much dropped out of school and there was no ‘wag van’ going round in those days to get you back into class.

“School is so much better now and truanting kids get more attention and help.

“I have spent the time raising my family but when I went back to college to update my qualifications I began to realise I could do so much more.

“My family are wonderful. My eldest son is at university and my 16-year-old is at sixth form and I get so much support from my mum and dad.

“My partner Kikis is a great support, too, but it has been really busy.

“I worked in various jobs – as a nail technician and in call centres, but I felt I could do more and wanted to have my own business and perhaps teach others.

“I was encouraged by Rachael Leach at Ansdell College and by Nikki Albenese from the Albanese Academy.

“I helped some of the other girls on the course. They were always coming to me to ask for help and I realised I could go into teaching because I have the life skills.

“I got in touch with Get Started a couple of years ago but the time was not right, there was no funding and I was pregnant, but I went back this year and Geoff Reeves helped with my business plan.

“It’s been a great help for someone new to starting a business.

“If the council had not offered those courses I would not be opening my shop.

“Now, I am looking for staff and we are running some special offers for the opening event.”

 

This article appeared in the Blackpool Gazette on 18th September 2014 and was written by Tim Gavell.

Leave a Reply

