Mum has an “Oh Sew Bootiful” Business


steph-arnold

 

Local mum has turned her passion for embroidery into a European success.

Every now and then someone comes along that inspires you. One such person is  Steph Arnold, Oh Sew Bootiful.  She is a creative and has experimented with various crafts over the years. She struggled with mental health issues for a number of years and found that embroidery was the best way for her to relax and unwind; a truly mindful craft.

With research and attention to detail she has discovered there is an opportunity to supply embroidery kits to enthusiasts across Europe.

Steph said “After having my little boy, I needed a job that would work around him and decided to combine my love of embroidery with the knowledge I gained during my Product design degree at UCLAN.

“I started by making embroidery hoop art to sell on Etsy and after a couple of weeks was approached by a German book publisher who asked if I would write a couple of tutorials to be featured in their new book ‘Stitch it Yourself’. I got to work on them and really enjoyed it so I decided to have a go at making downloadable PDF patterns and Embroidery kits.

“I’ve written all the stitch instructions and made them as simple as possible so that even a real novice can create a fab piece of hoop art whilst learning the embroidery basics.

I’ve only been going since April, and it is so helpful  to know that Blackpool Council’s Get Started service is around to support me, especially in the run up to Christmas.”

You do not need to have a massive stock holding, lots of overheads.  All you need is a simple idea, well thought through plan, determination and a vehicle(Etsy) to market your goods.

get-started-header-and-clients-xmas

 

For more help please contact us at http://www.blackpoolunlimited.com

01253 477147

Geoff Reeves

Leave a Reply

